Friday Feelings · Heavier Feels

Friday Feelings, May 6th.

I’ve watched 25 episodes of Scorpion in 4 days. I don’t know why I doubted that I could get through the whole series in the span of my seven day free trial; either I underestimated my binging talents or I didn’t realize how much I’d love this show.

So, I was going to write a completely lighthearted ramble on everything great about this Firefly-esque gem…but that’ll have to wait for another Friday, because this morning I woke up and remembered what day it was.

Two years ago today was eleven days before training camp for the World Race.
And I came home from work that day to find that one of my squadmates had been killed in a car wreck late the night before. (past musings on this here)

But even though she didn’t get to go with us, I’ll never think of the Race without thinking of Anastasia because she was still an irreplaceable part of F squad. Her parents came to meet us at launch, they prayed and encouraged us for the entire eleven months, they shared all of our fundraising pages when any of us were cutting close on our deadlines, and they trusted us to do this:

and they are an absolutely wonderful family and I hurt for them so much today.

The Lord gave and the Lord took away and the Sloans will never stop blessing his name, and I’m endlessly thankful that God put them in our lives.

Leave a Reply

