Uncategorized

Friday Feelings June 3rd

I’m very easy to get excited.
Once in Thailand I made a list of all the little happy things that had happened that day and I danced through the house reading it to whoever would listen. I’m incapable of keeping joy to myself.
And if something good happens to you, I’m a good person to come to and tell about it, because I’ll quickly be jumping up and down with you.

But even with all that, there are a few things that make me extraordinarily excited, like more than my normal level.

Like books. When I talk or write or think about books I feel like my eyes are popping out of my head and I can’t sit still. Not about every book, but the general concept of books(although, even books that I dislike, I can still very passionately explain what’s so terrible about them).
This is one of my favorites.
lovethatdog
This is a rare book that I don’t let people borrow, and that I only read a certain number of times a year. It’s that special and that perfect.
The only way to really know what I mean is for you to experience me reading it to you. Partly because it’s the most excited you’ll ever see me, but mostly because it’s one of those books that begs to be read aloud. I may only feel that way about it because of the way I was introduced to the book; my English professor read it to our class when we were learning about free verse poetry. That’s one of my favorite memories from all of college.

This is all I can say without ruining it for you…
It’s the most beautiful children’s story ever written,
every page will make you smile except for the three that will make you sob,

and when all of my friends’ babies start learning to read, they’ll be getting a copy as a gift. Because I love them, and I love celebrating small things, and I love. this. book.

Leave a Reply

